Festive greetings

I’ve got a bit of downtime today after the whirl of Christmas and being at home. Back in Glasgow as of yesterday, now adjusting to the cold again and remembering to switch off lights when I leave the room. (At ‘home’, I never bother. Wasteful.)

Received a lovely Christmas card from a friend I never see these days; was a welcome surprise and made me think about the importance of correspondence via post rather than email, Skype or Facebook. So much of our communication takes place online that it’s easy to forget the simple joy of receiving a letter or card. Although I didn’t get round to making some of the gifts I’d intended to for Christmas (see last post!), I did write and send cards, not because I’m that fussed about the occasion but because it’s the one time of year that you do have an excuse to contact people and wish them all the best. But, why do we need an excuse? Maybe one of my new year’s resolutions will be to make more effort with people I don’t see that often. Since finishing uni, I’ve realised the void that quickly sets in if you don’t see people every day, or every week. Maybe it’s time to start writing to friends at other times of the year. Merry March, anyone?

Leave a comment